Week of April 11th-14th

Standard

This week we learned about community helpers.  Hopefully you can come for fine arts fair night and see them in the hallway.  Our paintings and description of what they want to be and why are pretty fun to look at.  We also focused on fire safety for a day.

The last two days, we’ve spent time learning about plants, plant parts, seeds, and how they travel.  We are doing a lima bean experiment and have planted some to watch the roots grow.  We also planted morning glory flowers and hope they flower before the year is out.  Today we learned about food that grows on vines, food that grows on the ground, and food that grows underground.

We added the sight words by and as and…we’re done!  We’ve covered all 55 kindergarten words.  We will continue to practice and I will be testing them soon for midterms.

In math, we finished up 2-D shapes and their shape books came home.  This week we will talk about 3-D shapes and position words, above, below, etc.  We have been reviewing addition and subtraction as well and you’ll see some homework practice coming home too.

Next week, we will learn about insects and celebrate Earth Day.  We will also have the fine arts fair/color run on Thursday.  I’ve been asked to remind everyone that you can NOT re-enter the building after the color run.  It has been suggested that the kids wear protective eyewear, sunglasses or swim goggles work well too.  I’d also throw some towels in your car for the ride home, or walk if you’re close enough.

If you haven’t turned in your Science Night RSVP, please let me know by Monday.  I still have 3 people that haven’t.  We need to know, even if it’s a no.

I still have several people who haven’t returned or paid for Spring pictures as well.  Please take care of that this week as well.

Book orders are due tomorrow.  I will probably place the order tomorrow afternoon, so please have it in by noon.  Thanks!  I will send one more order home at the end of April, due early May in case you want to order for summer rewards.

The Goldiblox are a big hit from what I’ve heard.  They’ve been home with almost everyone who returned the form.  Thanks for returning them within a few days and for keeping them in such great condition.  I will continue to send different sets home if the kids are interested in taking them.  I have 3 different kinds.

Thank you all SO much for the wonderful birthday day!  I got all kinds of fun cards, flowers, a Target gift card, brownies, and more.  I think the kids really enjoyed the pizza lunch.  We had a fun lunch together.  Thank you for making my day a special one!  (I told them I must be 8 because there were 8 candles on the brownies and one of the girls said, “no, she’s 35 because all moms are 35.  I decided to take that one! 🙂

No school tomorrow for the kids.  I’ll be in meetings.  Hope you enjoy the long weekend!

Leave a comment