Week of Oct. 10th-13th

Standard

We finished up our apple unit this week with apple day with our 5th grade buddies.  The kids did an apple investigation where they weighed, measured, compared, and printed apples.  They also made an apple life cycle diagram, tasted all kinds of apple items and graphed their favorite, and tried apple pancakes.  Several asked for my super secret apple pancake recipe.  I used pancake mix, added in apple chunks (not peeled), and cinnamon!  Most of the kids thought they were great and bonus…I didn’t set off the fire alarm! (I did last year!)

We read The Big Red Barn this week and talked about rhyming with farm animals and made a big red barn class book with beginning sounds.  We also learned about bees and did some writing.  We added the letters Dd and Gg and the sight word “to”.

We started subtraction 0-5 in math.

Our field trip was a lot of fun and the weather actually ended up being very nice.  Thanks to all the parents who were able to go along with us.  They all got to pick 3 apples (Fuji), a pumpkin, feed the goats and chickens, learn about bees, and go on a hayride.  It was lots of fun!

I have had several parents ask me about next week, so just so we’re clear:

  • Tomorrow, kids do NOT have school.  It is a teacher prep day for conferences.
  • Next week, we have regular school days on Mon., Tues., and Wed. and then no school Thurs. and Fri.  On Wed., we have a regular day, teachers eat a quick dinner, and start conferences at 4:30.  On Thurs., conferences start at 11 and go until 8.  I will be at Jack’s conferences Thurs. morning, so I will not be in the building until after lunch.  I’ve gotten everyone’s note back (thank you!) and everyone is scheduled.
  • During conferences, please wait out in the hall until your time.  If you see your time come and go, please knock on the door.  I will do my best to stay on time.  If you don’t feel like we get everything done, we can follow up later, but cannot extend a conference.
  • Your child does not need to come for this one.  I will ask them to come in Feb.  If they need to come, I’ll ask them to go sit quietly at a center while we talk.

Book orders are due tomorrow.  Everyone had a free $5 book when you spend $10 attached to the order forms.  Please get those in by tomorrow at noon.  Typically we have a book fair during conferences.  Because of scheduling conflicts with Scholastic, we will not have that next week, instead it will be in Nov. and I probably won’t send a book order home that month.  Always let me know if it’s a gift and I can hold on to it for you.

On the home front…my husband’s surgery went very well, he started PT on Monday and other than not carrying the heavy dog up the stairs at night, he’s back to normal.  Abby gets her staples out tomorrow and the last two days has actually seemed to be back to her normal self.  She doesn’t seem to think 3 legs is a big deal and doesn’t seem to have pain anymore which is a relief.  Hannah’s back to school after Fall break and Jack’s ready for a conference break! 🙂  Hope you enjoy the extra long weekend!

Leave a comment