Week of Oct. 12th-14th

Standard

Good to see you all at conferences. If you have questions after we talked, please let me know. I thought of a few things I didn’t tell the first night of conferences, so here’s a few reminders:

We added the words am and in this week and the letters Bb and Nn. Have the kids show you the actions and sounds for the letters we’ve done so far: I, A, M, S, T, P, F, B, N, C. We also learned about long and short vowels this week.

Sight words: We will be adding quite a few sight words 2nd quarter so be sure to be practicing those at home!!

Reading Buddy Dog adoption was a ton of fun today! I will be sending out pictures in the next few days on Seesaw. They seemed to really like it and all promised to take good care of their reading buddies and to read to them each night. Reading might be retelling a story, or looking for sight words or letters they know or listening to you read.

Seesaw: I assigned 4 new projects you can work on over the next few days as they have time and want. Projects are not required but just extra practice.

Book orders are due Friday at noon. I’ll place the order after noon.

Please work on shoe tying. It’s a skill that just has to be practiced over and over. There are several good videos on youtube that show some different ways to tie so you can see what works best for your kid. I really don’t want to have to have my hands on their shoes anymore than needed. Please also make sure they are able to zip and get on their coats. Some need to practice how to get the sleeve fixed when it’s inside out.

Library will be on Tuesday. I know the slip said Tues. but we only go to library on B days, not necessarily Tues of each week. Be sure to check the A-E calendar. It’s on the district website if you need it again.

When we come back, it will be kindness week. On Monday, wear red, white or blue, Tues. wear a BE shirt or a blue shirt, Wed. is rainbow day and we were assigned purple (for a KU fan, this kills me….), on Thursday wear a kindness shirt if you have one, and Friday is wear red or a Chiefs shirt.

Thank you in advance for the donations. I have received a few and am very appreciative. The only thing I could really use more of is liquid soap in a pump dispenser. We have the foam soap, but it washes off super quickly and I worry their hands aren’t getting clean enough that way. If anyone finds some and wants to donate, that’d be great. We’ve already almost been all the way through the 2 bottles I bought at the beginning of school.

Thank you all for sharing your kids with me. They’re sweet and polite and eager to learn. I had several of them thank me for today and tell me how much fun it was! That made my heart happy!

Have a great weekend!

Leave a comment