Week Of Oct. 2nd-6th

Standard

This week was creepy! We read Creepy Pair of Underwear and Creepy Crayon! They’re such fun books and we practiced our retelling skills with both books. We’ll do Creepy Carrots on Monday. We read some monster books and drew monsters in their undies. We read The Biggest Pumpkin Ever book and compared it to the Biggest Apple Ever. We are talking about characters, setting, problems and solutions in stories. We painted and made our own silly pumpkins. And, we made a fun creepy crayon snack today!

We added the star words: come, said and we added the letters Gg, Ss, and Ii. They should know those letters, sounds, and actions.

In math, we’ve been finishing up comparing numbers and working on one more and one less and two more and two less.

We’ve been talking a lot about problem solving and how we often have a little problem that can easily be solved with an apology. We are also talking about how our words and tone of voice often make problems much bigger than they need to be. We’ve role played different situations around problem solving.

We are talking about goals and goal setting and are working on finding a classroom goal that we can word towards.

We did the Fun Run today and it was pretty windy and cold but that didn’t stop them! They enjoyed the break in routine and of course the popsicles after! 🙂

I will be attaching the conference schedule to the email. I will also attach my Scholastic ewallet if you’d like to contribute for books for the classroom.

Unfortunately, I will be gone again on Monday. I just found out my brother is having a pacemaker put in, so I will be with my sister in law on Monday. Mrs. Schmeeckle is subbing for me and she’s been in my classroom a lot, so they’ll be in good hands.

Picture day will be on Tuesday. Please be sure you’ve sent in the envelope or paid online if you’re interested. You can send clothes for them to change into if they’d like.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a comment